Skip to main content

About Delta

Delta State is an oil and agricultural producing state of Nigeria, situated in the region known as the South-South geo-political zone with a population of 4,098,291 (males: 2,674,306; females: 2,024,085).[3] The capital city is Asaba, located at the northern end of the state, with an estimated area of 762 square kilometres (294 sq mi), while Warri is the economic nerve center of the state and also the most populated located in the southern end of the state. The state has a total land area of 16,842 square kilometres (6,503 sq mi).
Production Capacity
Utilization Rate
Delta State was carved out of the former Bendel State on August 27, 1991. The state was created following agitations for the creation of a separate distinct state by the peoples of the old Delta Province: the Urhobos, Itsekiri, Isoko, Ijaw (Ezon) and Ukwuani (later joined Anioma). There was yet another state creation movement designated as "Niger State" comprising the old midwestern Igbo-speaking Asaba divisions and Ukwuani-speaking Aboh division of the old Midwest region. This was transformed into "Anioma" following the creation of Niger State from the old Northwestern State by the Murtala Muhammed's administration in 1976. The then Military President, Gen Ibrahim Babangida (Rtd) created the state using the name "Delta" advanced by Niger Delta region and "Asaba" a prominent town within the "Anioma" axis as capital. Asaba was designated as capital of the proposed Anioma State. The proposed capital was a virgin land or "Anioma city" in the heart of the two constituent divisions that had evolved to become the Anioma area. Delta state was once integrated in the Mid Western state from 1963 to 1976 and later Bendel state, from 1976 to 1991. The name "Bendel" (Ben-Del) coined from the old Benin and Delta Provinces of Western Region-Delta to reflect the integration of Benin and Delta provinces.
The state covers a landmass of about 18,050 km², of which more than 60% is land. The state lies approximately between Longitude 5°00 and 6°.45' East and Latitude 5°00 and 6°.30' North. It is bounded in the north and west by Edo State, the east by Anambra, Imo, and Rivers States, southeast by Bayelsa State, and on the southern flank is the Bight of Benin which covers about 160 kilometres of the state's coastline. Delta State is generally low-lying without remarkable hills. The state has a wide coastal belt inter-lace with rivulets and streams, which form part of the Niger Delta.
Delta State is ethnically diverse with peoples and seven major languages and dialects are spoken in the state. The state is divided into two regions on account of state creation movements (between 1976 and 1996) which was a feature of the military governance of Nigeria. This culminated to the increment of states in Nigeria from 12 states to the present 36 states. The first group are Anioma (Igboid group) which consists of Aniocha/Oshimili, Ndokwa/Ukwuani ethnic nationality, and Ika. These areas occupy the Delta North senatorial district of the state. The second group comprises Urhobo/Isoko (Edoid group), Itsekiri (Yoruboid group), and Izon ethnic groups. These ethnic groups occupy the Central and South Senatorial districts of the state. The Urhobo and Isoko speak very similar dialects unlike the Izon and Itsekiri people but have a loosely related culture as they traded and intermarried for centuries before colonization. The Itsekiri are linguistically and culturally related to the Yoruba and Edo ethnic groups of Western Nigeria, while the Ezon are a branch of their kith and kin in neighbouring Bayelsa state. Most inhabitants of the state practice Christianity and very few traditional faiths—although the Ukwuanis also have many cultural affiliation with these groups most especially in their cosmic outlook.
There are various solid mineral deposits within state - industrial clay, silica, lignite, kaolin, tar sand, decorative rocks, limestone, etc. These are raw materials for industries such as brick making, ceramics, bottle manufacturing, glass manufacturing, chemical/insulators production, chalk manufacturing and sanitary wares, decorative stone cutting and quarrying. Delta state also has huge deposits of crude oil and is also one the largest producers of petroleum products in Nigeria
Delta State is known to have produced several sportsmen and women, notably Stephen Okechukwu Keshi, Sunday Oliseh, Austin Jay-Jay Okocha, Wilson Oruma, Efetobore Sodje and Jonathan Akpoborie, Cindy Ofili.
Dancing boat
Women Group
Urhobo Group