Governor Ifeanyi Okowa of Delta has commiserated with the royal family of Mosogar in Ethiope West Local Government Area over the transition of their traditional ruler, Samson Okirihioboh Imoyin-Omene, Udurhie 1.

In a statement by his Chief Press Secretary, Olisa Ifeajika, in Asaba on Sunday, the governor said that Delta had lost one of its renowned monarchs.

He said that the late octogenarian traditional ruler, who passed on at 86, was a courageous leader and one committed to the development of his kingdom and beyond.

“On behalf of the government and people of Delta, I commiserate with the Imoyin-Omene royal family, the people of Mosogar kingdom, the authorities and people of Ethiope West Local Government Area and the entire Urhobo nation on the passing of the renowned monarch.

“The late monarch’s 14 years reign recorded remarkable infrastructural development in his domain.

“He will be remembered for his contributions to the peace, unity and development of his kingdom and the entire Delta,” Okowa stated.

He urged the family of the deceased royal father, friends, associates and Mosogar community to take solace in the knowledge that the monarch lived an exemplary life deserving honour and celebration.

The governor prayed to Almighty God to comfort those mourning the departed king and grant his soul eternal rest.